1 16 2 4 23 Odisha (/əˈdɪsə/,[7] /ɒˈrɪsə, ɔː-, oʊ-/;[8] Odia: ଓଡ଼ିଶା, pronounced [oɽɪˈsaː] (About this soundlisten); formerly known as Orissa) is one of the 29 states of India. Located in eastern India, it is surrounded by the states of West Bengal to the north-east, Jharkhand to the north, Chhattisgarh to the west and north-west, and Andhra Pradesh to the south. Odisha has 485 kilometres (301 mi) of coastline along the Bay of Bengal on its east, from Balasore to Ganjam.[9] It is the 9th largest state by area, and the 11th largest by population. It is also the 3rd most populous state of India.[10] Odia[11] is the official and most widely spoken language, spoken by 36.6 million according to the 2016 Census.